Syllabus and Calendar

PHYS 116A, Winter 2014


date day Topic Readings
1/6/14
Mon Periodic motion and oscillations      13.1
1/7/14 Tue Simple harmonic motion and circular motion   13.2 13.4
1/8/14 Wed Mass-spring system, energy conservation in SHM 13.5 13.6
1/9/14 Thu The pendulum;  damped and driven oscillations 13.7 13.8
1/13/14 Mon
Types of waves; waves on a string; harmonic functions 
14.1 14.3
1/14/14 Tue
Sound 14.4 5
1/15/14 Wed
Doppler shift; interference    14.6
1/16/14 Thu
Superposition   14.7
1/20/14
Mon
HOLIDAY

1/21/14 Tue Standing Waves & Beats  
  14.8 - 14.9
1/22/14 Wed Review  
1/23/14 Thu
EXAM 1 (covers Chs. 13-14)          
1/27/14 Mon
Electromagnetic Waves   25.1 25.2
1/28/14 Tue
Energy and speed of electromagnetic waves    25.3  25.4
1/29/14 Wed Polarization   25.5
1/30/14 Thu
Reflection and mirrors; ray tracing       26.1 - 26.2
2/3/14
Mon
Spherical mirrors; mirror equation     26.3 - 26.4
2/4/14
Tue Refraction, total internal reflection 26.5 - 26.6
2/5/14
Wed
Thin-lens equations    26.7
2/6/16
Thu
Rainbows & Vision 26.8 ,27.1 27.2
2/10/14
Mon
Optical Instruments   27.3 27.6
2/11/14
Tue Interference; Young's experiment  
  28.1 28.2
2/12/14
Wed
Review  
2/13/14
Thu
EXAM 2  (covers Chs. 25-27)  
2/17/14
Mon
HOLIDAY

2/18/14
Tue
Thin Films     28.3
2/19/14
Wed
Diffraction; resolution limits     28.4 28.6
2/20/14
Thu
Special relativity  
29.1 29.4
2/24/14
Mon Momentum and energy in relativity; General relativity 29.5 29.8
2/25/14 Tue Early Quantum Theory 30.1 30.4
2/26/14 Wed de Broglie & Heisenberg    30.5 - 30.7
2/27/14
Thu
Early  Atomic  Models  
31.1 31.2
3/3/14
Mon Development of quantum mechanics   31.3 31.5
3/4/14
Tue
Atomic structure and chemistry; lasers                       31.6 31.7
3/5/14
Wed
Review  
3/6/14
Thu EXAM 3  (Chs. 28-31)  
3/10/14
Mon Constituents of matter: particles within particles     32.1 
3/11/14 Tue
Nuclear structure; Radioactivity 32.2  32.3
3/12/14 Wed Nuclear energy; Elementary particles, cosmology, the Theory of Everything 32.4  32.9
3/13/14
Thu
Review





3/20/14 Thu FINAL EXAM: ***8:30 am - 10:20 am, room A110***